Camping on the Grounds

Dear Readers,

Recently, my family decided to make the jump, and buy a cottage.

Since the place needs a, ‘little bit’ of renovating, several people (Me, my three siblings and their friends) set up camp in the backyard.

Pitching three separate tents, home for the next few days was established with not too much difficulty, although one tent had the exception of an unfortunate collapse during the construction phase, due to an improper estimate.

Blow up mattresses and sleeping bags in the great wilderness was a good way to learn a lot about how much survival skills you really have, and how to grow a pretty decent four-day beard. (Next year I’m hoping it gets thicker and more manly).

During the nights, the weather conditions were fairly good with the exception of a humongous rain storm that pummelled us all through the night and most of the morning hours of our second day. Awaking the next morning to the pitter-patter on the top face of the tent, I expected it to be raining still (by natural deduction). Finally, after taking the time to get bundled up in about eight pieces of clothing, and when I had finally opened up the ‘front door’ to find sunny skies and a gentle breeze, confusion struck me like an invisible bolt of lightning. Looking upwards I realized it was only the droplets falling from the tree that my tent was conveniently set up under.

Aside from the storm that nearly destroyed my way of life for the next few days, I managed to have so much fun and quickly warmed up to the .

Tubing on the lake, talking by the fire, swimming, reading, the entire family watching Usain Bolt on the tele (along with a myriad of other events)… even cutting my 20th birthday cake two days early.

We also carried a monstrosity of a wood-burning fireplace (an approximately 700 pound beast), about a hundred feet indoors, up a half flight of stairs, and out another forty feet or so, to the garbage pile beside the garage.

Even though the weekend went by in such a blur, it’s one I would love to do again 🙂

All the best.

Regards,

R.Q.

About rickquinn

I am an 22 year old living in and amongst the Greater Toronto Area and was born in Oshawa, Ont. All my life I always wondered what I was going to do as a profession and I have finally decided what that talent is.... writing. Starting up my first ever blog I am actually not nervous at all and I am willing to take on the unique experience that awaits me. The only thing that acts as a limitation is how much I'm willing to express. With that being said, welcome to my blog.
This entry was posted in Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment